Fall Lake Township

Lake County

Click here for the Lake County website

Lake County was founded on February 20, 1855 as a Superior County. However, on March 3rd of that year, the Lake County name was changed to St. Louis County. Then on March 1, 1856, the St. Louis County name was changed back to Lake County and Newton County, to the West of Lake County, was renamed St. Louis County. The name Lake County was selected for Lake Superior.

Lake County Seat: Two Harbors
Largest City: Two Harbors
Total Area: 2,991 Square Miles (7,746 Square Kilometers)
Land: 2,099 Square Miles (5,437 Square Kilometers)
Water: 892 Square Miles (2,309 Square Kilometers)

Prior to the arrival of the Europeans, the area had long been inhabited by Native groups. At the time of European contact, the principal Native American groups in the region were the Dakota (Sioux) and Ojibwe (Anishinabe or Chippewa). The economy of these groups was on hunting, fishing and gathering with wild rice being of particular importance. The first Europeans to explore the area were the French in the late 1600s. They were followed by trappers, fur traders, missionaries and explorers.